Another sad news

The weather became bad from the day of Murach waki Zoshi, 22th May.

 

Next day the rain was so hard that I stayed home all day. On 24th, the rain stopped during the day but the sky was covered with dark cloud and electricity was cut off.

On 25th, the men went to Sajigor, the most powerful sacred place in Rumbur, to sacrifice the goats for announcing Sajigor that from the day on the flocks of goats would be taken to the higher pasture.

 

In the same morning, another sad news reached to the villagers that the man called “Mr. carpenter” as a nickname passed away. He was the same clan as the old man who died 8 days ago. It was the third funeral for the Wakoke clan since this March.

 

Mr. carpenter used to come to my closest relative’s house for tea and chat. He used to call me “Ko” instead Akiko. However,  I greeted him when I came back from Japan last October, he didn’t recognize me. His memories had gone then became difficult to walk. Then I had never seen him for long time but who expected he would passed away so quick. We don’t know his age, maybe 70 years old? 

 

Even though all expense for the funeral being shared with all families in the village. It was quite difficult for every family to supply those valuable items, such as around 30 goats, a few cows huge amount of cheese, clarified butter and tons of wheat flour. For three funerals will be enormous cost.

 

And I always feel the Kalasha funeral cost too much. Usually most of the food served to the people left over. The wheat bread go dried up to the cow’s feed and the potage type of meat soup won’t be eaten even by stray dogs. 

 

 

I ask the man to collect the bones for my dog after the mourning guests finished to eat their food. There are still meats remain on the bones. What a waste!