April, joyful month-2 / 幸せいっぱい4月ーその2

Second good thing happened in April was that I could brought for flat-screen TV for our Kiran Library from Islamabad, donated by Ms. Shahnaz Ahmad.

There is Sony 32 inches old style TV in our library used for showing cultural or educational DVD which filmed and edited by friends and me, or sometime “National Geographic” etc. However, DVD I have made on my latest laptop computer, bought 3 years ago, didn’t work on the DVD player. Actually that DVD player had been not in good condition for many years. So last year we took it to Chitral for repairing that I found the time of DVD had over, no shop sold DVD player anymore. They said now the time of USB. 

 

Since then I been longing for flat-screen TV which could be connected directly from my laptop. I brought the cable to connect my laptop to TV from Japan last year but I did hesitate to buy a flat-screen TV in Chitral due to they sell second quilty one, not reliable.   

 

Very luckily, Ms. Shahnaz, sisiter of Timmy and Fauzia, daughter of Helga, who lives in US, offered to donate a 40 inches flat-screen TV. So I brought it when coming back from Islamabad to Rumbur after the function of Mr. Brazilian Ambassador in April.

 

Setting this large flat-screen TV in our Kiran Library was not easy because TV is not common in our village of Balanguru. Down the village there are a shop of Muslim tailor where the flat-screen TV hang to watch. Other Muslim family who used to live in Karach has the one. So with their advices Yasir, in charge of the library, and Basir, my security police, put it and nailed on the cabinet.

 

On 5th May, school holiday, we called senior school children and village women who have a time to the library. First I showed several photos of plastic pollution to warned ;

“Don’t throw the plastic wastes here and there. It harm the land and water. We are living higher place, so some plastics running down through water, then along the downstream polluted as these photos. If you need to use plastic bags, please wash it and re-use. When you go to shops, take that bag and re-use again and again”

 

Then I showed short film showing how much sugar contained in the soft drinks, coca cola, milinda, pepsi, dew. So the audience understood those bottles of drink are just sugar liquid with color.

 

Afterwords, I showed home video of “Joshi in 2009”and “Kalasha in 2010” filmed by me which audience were enjoying to watch.  

 

I will show these warning short videos time to time concerning about “Harmful junk food”, "Plastic Pollution”, “How to recycle” along with Kalasha cultural video and educational video.

 

Thank you so much, Shahnaz, we are very happy to have your wonderful TV at the Kiran Library.